Time Sensitive Zoom Updates

— Written By

Zoom continues to enhance security of your meetings via application enhancements and default setting changes.

Upgrade your Zoom Client

One very important update to Zoom 5.0 is required by May 30. After May 30, all Zoom clients on older versions will be required to upgrade before joining meetings. To update your Zoom application, please visit the Zoom download page.

Read more about Zoom 5.0 enhancements.

Keep your Meetings Secure

Here are the recommended settings for public meetings:

  • Require participants to register and send the URL upon registration
  • Assign a Zoom savvy co-host who can help you manage disruptions
  • Review Protecting Zoom meetings from Unwanted Disruptions
  • Familiarize yourself with the Security icon options
  • These are on the Security icon within Zoom 5.0:
    • [Turn off] Allow participants to Share Screen
    • [Turn off] Allow participants to Chat
    • [Turn off] Allow participants to Rename themselves
    • [Turn off] Allow participants to Annotate on shared content (only visible when sharing)
    • Consider Locking the meeting and enabling the Waiting Room after expected participants have joined or at some point, e.g., 5 minutes into the meeting
  • These are on the participant’s window’s More button:
    • [Turn on] Mute Participants on Entry
    • [Turn off] Allow Participants to Unmute Themselves

Some of these settings can be set as meeting defaults in Zoom Settings. They’re not all required, but each one helps minimize the sources of disruption.

Understand Meeting Links

Depending on your Zoom Settings, the Meeting link (URL) may contain the meeting password. Providing links with embedded URLs to trusted participants provides them with a convenient, one-click way to join your meeting.

However, if you publically share a URL that contains an embedded password, you are giving everyone access to your meeting, thus invalidating the purpose of the password.

How to Tell If a URL Has an Embedded Password

In this example, notice the highlighted portion of the URL starting with “?pwd=“. That piece contains the embedded password. If you want to share the URL and provide the password separately, in a more secure way, remember to delete that portion of the link first.

ncsu.zoom.us/j/98864280080?pwd= K21rTVB6USsxOWRZZkdTamxzMDJLdz09

What You Can Do

  • Turn off “Embed password in meeting link for one-click join” in your Zoom settings.
  • Implement all other reasonable security controls.